“There’s a blip of something in your neck, right next to your brain-stem. Are you aware of this?” the guard asked, still staring at the screen in front of him.

“IT IS A TUMOR.”

“It’s a tumor,” I told him.

He stared at me, open-mouthed. A tumor could be removed in five minutes. A simple laser surgery at any fuel station would fix it. This guy thought I was electing to die painfully.

“Yup, my body, my choice,” I lied to him.

“You want to keep that tumor? Next to your brain-stem?” his face grew concerned.

A humanitarian guard, it was all I needed.

Pain shot through my whole body like a thousand wasps stinging me at the same time. I did my best to contain myself.

“GET RID OF HIM.”

He had the government helmet, government uniform, and a little patch on the right side of his chest. It was made by a kid.

“I told my kid I’d live for him, but I want to see him sooner rather than later,” I told the guard.

That should pull on his heartstrings. The ole “dead-son-suicidal-father” bit.

His eyes welled up with water, and he turned away as he waved me through.

“GOOD. NO MORE SECURITY CHECKPOINTS FROM NOW ON.”

“Yeah, cause that was great for me, too,” I muttered under my breath.

If only anyone would push the conversation past my attempts at sabotage. If only anyone could detect this thing in my head. But it had the power to kill me at any time, and if it was discovered, it would kill me and itself in the process.

But how would it not be dissected?

Pain, again. Pure pain in the worst way.

“ENOUGH OF THAT THINKING.”

I shook my head, blinking. I was getting somewhere with that line of thought.

Another shot of pain, and I stumbled as I walked.

“YOU ARE MINE. YOU DO AS I COMMAND.”

“Well I’m getting used to my new fucking passenger,” I said softly.

“YOU DO NOT NEED TO SPEAK. I HEAR YOU JUST FINE.”

I sighed, a feeling of dread welled up. Just as soon as it arrived, pleasure filled my body. I was floating past all the other travelers, making my way to my seat.

“I AM YOUR GOD.”

I buckled myself in, feeling like I might be passing into the next life. Bliss was all I could comprehend, it drowned out my personality.

“YOU WILL KILL YOUR LEADER WHEN WE ARRIVE AT YOUR HOME PLANET.”

I nodded, smiling. I didn’t have any choice, really. Pain and pleasure were powerful motivators.

“How?” I thought

“I WILL FIND A WAY.”

“What will happen to you?”

As soon as I finished the sentence in my head, a vision of a massive explosion came to me. It was the only way to ensure the disintegration of the parasite inside me.

“NOW YOU SEE.”

I fell asleep, and it toyed with my dreams as the ship entered the slipstream of light speed travel.

