“Mmmmm,” he growled with contempt, “I’m not in the habit of providing free services.

“All the soldiers? All of them without coin? You would refuse them? Even the pious ones?” I yelled at the wretched form in front of me.

He was a god, yes, but one that had become indulgent. He had enough coins, and what did he use them for in this place? And what time did he have to spend them? He was a relic, on that should be forgotten.

“Two coins. That is the fee. You can try to swim like the others…” he beckoned.

The purplish river ran past the cave floor with fury. I could see no bodies, and no other souls behind me. I assumed that the river consumed the poor after they were overcome by desperation. They had attempted to swim, and taken to Tartarus, the blackest, deepest part of the underworld.

“I will wait. I will wait for someone to place the coins on my eyes,” I told Charon.

“You should go to Asphodel. It is not as pleasant, but I can tell you how to get there,” he smirked.

I could just barely see his smile from under his dark-colored hood. His flesh was implacable. Not human, but not the sheen of god-hood like I expected.

“I see no reason to go. I’m here until the sands of time fall into oblivion,” I crossed my arms.

Charon’s frown collapsed.

“I do not have time for this. You are a nameless soldier…” he began.

“My name is Agamades Timonax! I died to save my people! You will bring me to Elysium! I demand it. I was pious, I was devoid of sin, and I refuse to let the pettiness of one half-god stand between me and the afterlife I deserve,” I bellowed.

The words hung in the cave. The last words echoed back to me, and it I still had blood in a body, it would be hot with anger.

“You overstep your bounds, soldier,” Charon grumbled.

He pushed his boat from the shore of the river Styx, and left me at the entrance to Erebus. I remained, watching him go.

I would be sent to Elysium. Hades himself would have to drag me to Tartarus. And I would not go quietly.

